Remember When?

Remember when I would drag an overstuffed bag full of books home from the library and stay up far to late reading a real page-turner?

Remember when I would ditch the housework and run to my sewing machine at naptime to whip up a new apron or a homemade gift?

Remember when I would look through a cookbook, tab all the recipes I liked and spend an evening cooking and baking after all the littles were in bed?

Remember when I nursed my babe and did nothing else but gaze at her little body nuzzled up to mine?

Remember when I actually called my friends?

I don’t. I am now stepping back to admit that “The Internet” has consumed me. I am always online. I do it in the morning, when nursing, at naptime, before dinner, after bedtime……all the time. I made a rule that I would be present and not allow my kiddos to see my surfing. I thought this was a great thing, and it is, however it lead me straight to the computer or tablet everytime they went to bed. Email, Facebook, Pinterest, news, craft sites, blogs, the list goes on. Not accomplishing anything, not improving myself, just wasting precious time, wondering why I don’t have any time to do the things I used to. An hour spent “pinning” could have actually sewn something, 20 minutes on Facebook could have completed my Costco photobook, 5 minutes emailing a friend could have been a phone call.

It’s not easy. Cutting cold turkey is tough, however I am working at weaning myself from this habit that’s been stealing my productivity, creativity and time.

 

 

 

One thought on “Remember When?

  1. Megan says:

    Aww this post made me sad. I think we are often too hard on ourselves. It’s hard to be on all the time and giving yourself a little zone out time is not a bad thing at all! But I am going on Pinterest a lot less I will admit.

Leave a Reply

