Soup’s On

Winter warmers: fuzzy socks, warm blankets, family cuddles, hot chocolate (coffee for mama) and of course ….soup!! Soup is a great way to get lots of veggies into your kiddies, often times without them even noticing.

Today is cold, I have no where to be and I want soup. I’ve been pinning soup recipes and perusing some of my old cookbooks. Today’s version is super lazy but I have a stash of carnation milk in my cupboard that needs to be used up (only ever used for my mom’s tea and fudge). Pretty simple. I’ll let you know how it turns out. Here’s the recipe courtesy of http://www.gimmesomeoven.com:

Broccoli Cheese Soup

3 cups chicken or vegetable stock          2 cups chopped broccoli (fresh or frozen)

1 cup white onion diced (1 small)           2 cups shredded cheese (sharper the better)

1 can of evaporated milk

salt and pepper to taste

Stir together stock, diced onion and broccoli in a medium saucepan. Heat over medium heat until it comes to a low boil. Reduce heat to medium and continue boiling for about 5 minutes, or until the onions are tender. Stir in the evaporated milk and continue cooking for 3 minutes or until the mixture returns to a simmer. Remove from heat and stir in the cheese until melted. Add salt and pepper (or other spices if you wish)

Our spoons are ready……….

UPDATE: Supper’s over and it was DE-LISH the only additions I would make would be to mince broccoli in a food processor or chopper so that its smaller and I added a bit of flour (whisked flour and water in a bowl and added about a cup to the soup) as I prefer it thicker. mmm!! It made enough for the four of us (C3 had three small bowls) and enough left over for a hearty lunch for daddy.

soup

2 thoughts on “Soup’s On

Leave a Reply

